What is the sustainable development goal

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are a set of 17 global goals adopted by the United Nations in 2015 as part of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. The SDGs are designed to be a blueprint for a better and more sustainable future for all, aiming to end poverty, protect the planet, and ensure peace and prosperity for everyone.

The 17 SDGs are:

1. No Poverty

2. Zero Hunger

3. Good Health and Well-being

4. Quality Education

5. Gender Equality

6. Clean Water and Sanitation

7. Affordable and Clean Energy

8. Decent Work and Economic Growth

9. Industry, Innovation, and Infrastructure

10. Reduced Inequalities

11. Sustainable Cities and Communities

12. Responsible Consumption and Production

13. Climate Action

14. Life Below Water

15. Life On Land

16. Peace, Justice, and Strong Institutions

17. Partnerships for the Goals

Each goal has specific targets and indicators to measure progress, and they are interconnected and mutually reinforcing. Achieving the SDGs will require action from governments, the private sector, civil society, and individuals, and they are critical to ensuring a sustainable and prosperous future for everyone.

Related Stories